Posted in English

Ուսումնական գարուն

Listen to the conversation and do the exercises to practice and improve your listening skills.

                                    DISCUSSION

Can you play a musical instrument?

Yes, I play the pipe.

What instrument would you like to play?

I would like to play the guitar.

Would you like to be in a band?

No, I wouldn’t like to be in a band.

ShowCheck your understanding: true or false

ShowCheck your understanding: gap fill

WORKSHEETS AND DOWNLOADS

Topics:

music

friends

                           GRAMMAR                    THE IMPERATIVE IN ENGLISH

Put the words in brackets into the gaps. Mind the positive or the negative forms.

EXAMPLE:

  your books. (to open)

Open your books

  1. Go upstairs. (to go)
  2. Don’t swim in this lake. (not/to swim)
  3. Do your homework. (to do)
  4. Don’t play football in the yard. (not/to play)
  5. Brush your teeth. (to brush)
  6. Don’t talk during the lesson. (not/to talk)
  7. Don’t feed the animals in the zoo. (not/to feed)
  8.  Read the instructions. (to read)
  9. Don’t be late for school. (not/to be)
  10.  Switch off your mobiles. (to switch off)

                                                                Easter

Easter or “Zatik” in Armenia is one of the most colorful, joyful celebrations of the year.

Easter falls on Sunday, April 12, 2020. Easter is celebrated on the Sunday following the first full moon.
Speaking about the traditional Easter food in Armenia we should mention that Armenian women bake a cake with white flavoring, which symbolizes purity, make fried fish, herbs of different kinds, boil and paint eggs in different colors, rice with raisins and what not.

What are your family Easter traditions?

Like all people our family celebrates Easter every year. It is one of the most favourite celebrations of our family. Mother and grandmother bake a cake with white flavoring, which symbolizes purity, make fried fish, herbs of different kinds, boil and paint eggs in different colors, rice with raisins. My brother and I like to fight with eggs. This year Easter falls on Sunday, April 17. We are all looking forward to Easter.

HOW DOES YOUR FAMILY CELEBRATE EASTER?

Students will make short videos and tell us how their families celebrate Easter

  MY FAMILY AT HOME

My family lives in a small house. It’s simple but pretty. It has a large garden. I like to work in the garden but my sister hates to work in the garden. She prefers to read. She reads in the morning, in the afternoon and at night.

I give all of the vegetables to mom and dad. They like to cook in our small kitchen. I eat any vegetable but my sister eats only a few.

My family always eats breakfast and dinner together. We talk. We laugh. Then my sister washes the dishes.

At night dad likes to listen to music. Mom works on the computer. I watch television. And my sister reads.

Soon we go to bed. My parents go to bed late but my sister and I go to bed early. I’m ready to go to sleep but my sister wants to keep reading.

DID YOU UNDERSTAND THE TEXT?

Please answer the following questions of understanding:

Question 1:

Which is another way to describe the family’s house?

1 cramped but cozy

2 narrow but suitable

3 little but attractive

4 old but cheery

Question 2:

The family has how many members?

1 two

2 three

3 four

4 five

Question 3:

Who doesn’t enjoy working in the garden?

1 grandmother

2 cousin

3 father

4 sister

Question 4:

When does the sister like to read?

1 at night

2 in the afternoon

3 in the morning

4 all of the above

Question 5:

When do the family members not eat together?

1 at dinner

2 at lunch

3 at breakfast

4 all of the above

Թողնել մեկնաբանություն